High-performance and high concurrency Web architecture

Bai Yang 2015-05

baiy.cn

 

Typical Web Use Cases

The following figure shows a typical example of high-load Web applications.

The above figure shows a typical high-performance Web application with three-layer architecture. This is a proven architecture that has been widely deployed in many large-scale Web applications including Google, Yahoo, Facebook, Twitter, and Wikipedia.

 

Reverse Proxy

The reverse proxy server, which is in the outside layer of the architecture, accepts connection requests from users. In real use cases, the proxy server will also need to complete at least some the tasks listed below:
  • Connection management: maintains the connection pools on the client side and application server side, manages Keep-Alive connections, and terminates them after time out.
     
  • Attack detection and isolation: all requests associated with business logic will be sent to and processed by the back-end application server, because the reverse proxy service does not handle any dynamic content generation tasks. Thus, the reverse proxy service will almost not be affected by program or back-end service vulnerabilities. The reliability and security of reverse proxy service only depends on the product itself. Deploying a reverse proxy server at the front-end of the application server can effectively set up a reliable isolation and attack detection mechanism between the back-end applications and remote users.

    When higher security is needed, users can add additional network isolation device like hardware firewall at boundary positions of external network, reverse proxy, back-end applications and database.
     
  • Load balance: use Round Robin or the "Least Connections First" service policy to achieve load balance based on user requests, or utilize SSI technology to divide a user request into several parallel parts and submit them to several application servers separately.
     
  • Distributed cache acceleration: Deploy reverse proxy servers in groups at network boundaries that are geographically close to hot areas, and accelerate network applications by providing cache service at locations close to clients. This has established a CDN network.
     
  • Static file server: when a static file request is received, the server directly returns the file without submitting the request to the back-end application server.
     
  • Dynamic response cache: caches the dynamically generated responses that will not change for a period, to prevent the background server from frequently executing repeated query and calculation.
     
  • Data compression: enables GZIP/ZLIB compression algorithms for returned data in order to save bandwidth.
     
  • Data encryption (SSL Offloading): enables SSL/TLS encryption for communications with clients.
     
  • Fault detection and Fault tolerance: tracks the health status of back-end application servers, to avoid sending requests to a faulty server.
     
  • User authentication: completes tasks including user login and session establishment.
     
  • URL alias: establishes a uniform URL alias in order to hide the real location.
     
  • Applications mixture: mixes different Web applications together using SSI and URL mapping technology
     
  • Protocol conversion: provides protocol conversion service for back-end applications that use protocols like SCGI and FastCGI.

The popular reverse proxy services include Apache httpd+mod_proxy, IIS+ARR, Squid, Apache Traffic Server, Nginx, Cherokee, Lighttpd, HAProxy, Varnish, and etc.

 

Application Service

The application service layer is located between the back-end service layer (e.g., database) and the reverse proxy layer. It receives connection requests forwarded by the reverse proxy, and downwards accesses structured storage and data query services provided by the database.

This layer has implemented all business logic associated with Web applications, and usually needs to complete a lot of calculation and dynamic data generation tasks. The nodes within the application layer may not be fully equivalent, and may be separated into different service clusters with SOA or μSOA architecture. Working in combination with the asynchronous Web framework provided by libutilitis, it is realistic to use C/C++ to implement Web applications that leave its rivals far behind in terms of functionality and effectiveness.

Above figure shows a typical working model with high concurrency and high performance. Each Web application node (represented by boxes labelled as "App" in above figure) usually works on its own server (physical server or VPS), and several nodes can work in parallel in order to easily achieve horizontal scaling (scale-out).

In the above example, a Web application node comprises three key parts: I/O callback threads pool, Web requests queue, and back-end worker threads pool. The workflow is as follows:

  1. When a Web request arrives, the operating system informs AIO callback thread to process this arrived Web request, through the I/O completion (or I/O ready) callback mechanisms which are closed related to the platform such as IOCP, epoll, kqueue, event ports, real time signal (posix aio), /dev/poll, and pollset.
     
  2. When a worker thread in the AIO callback pool receives an arrived Web request, it attempts to pre-process the request. During pre-processing, local high-speed cache will be used to avoid data query which requires relatively higher cost. If local cache is matched, it will directly return the result (still using asynchronous method) to the client and will complete this request.
     
  3. If the queried data is not matched in local cache, or the Web request needs writing to the database, the AIO callback thread will put this request into the specified queue. The request will wait for an idle thread in the worker threads pool to further process it.
     
  4. Each thread in the back-end worker threads pool maintains two Keep-Alive connections: one is connected to the bottom layer database service, and the other is connected to the distributed caching (memcached) system. The worker threads pool has implemented a connection pool mechanism for both the database and distributed cache, through the method that each worker thread maintains its own Keep-Alive connections. Keep-Alive connection has substantially improved application processing efficiency and network utilization by repeated use of a single network connection for different requests.
     
  5. Back-end worker threads wait for new requests to arrive in the Web requests queue. Once getting a new request from the queue, the thread will first attempt to match the data being queried by the request with distributed cache, if there is no match or this request needs further processing such as database writing, this Web will be directly completed through database operations.
     
  6. After a Web request is fully processed, the worker thread will return the result as a Web response to the specified client using asynchronous I/O method.
     

The above procedures are intended to give you a general understanding about how a typical Web application node works. It is worth noting that different Web applications may have very different working model and architecture because of different design concept and functions.

Note that the edge-triggered AIO event notification mechanisms like Windows IOCP and POSIX AIO Realtime Signal are different with level-triggered notification mechanisms like epoll, kqueue and event ports. In order to prevent the I/O completed events queue from being too long or overflow, causing the memory buffer being locked in the nonpaged pool for a long time, the above mentioned AIO callback mechanism is composed of two separate thread pools and one AIO completed events queue. One thread pool is responsible for continuously listening for events arrived at the AIO completed events queue, and then submit the events to an internal AIO completed events queue (this queue works under user mode and will never lock memory; the queue length is user-customizable.); and simultaneously, the other thread pool is waiting on this internal AIO queue, and processes AIO completed events that arrives at the queue. This type of design can reduce workload for the operating system, and can avoid message loss, memory leak and memory exhaustion that may occur in extreme situations. Also, it can help the operating system to better manage and utilize its nonpaged pool.

As a typical use case, most of Google Web applications like search engine and Gmail are implemented using C/C++. Thanks to the high efficiency and powerfulness of C/C++ languages, Google provides global Internet users with the best Web experience, and also has achieved completing a Web search among its millions of distributed servers around the world at total consumption of 0.0003 kW·h only. For further discussion on Google Web application architecture and hardware scaling, refer to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Google and http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Google_search.

 

Database and memcached Services

Database service offers relational or structured data storage and query service for upper layer Web applications. Depending on specific use case, Web applications can provide access to different database services using plugin mechanisms like database connector. Under this architecture, users can flexibly choose or change to a database product which is most suitable for their needs. For example, users can use embedded engine like SQLite for quick deployment and functions verification at POC stage, and can switch to MySQL database solution which is cheaper at the preliminary stage. And when business needs increase and database workload becomes heavy, users can migrate to a more expensive and complex solution such as Clustrix, MongoDB, Cassandra, MySQL Cluster and Oracle.

Memcached is a distributed data objects caching service fully based on memory and <Key, Value> pair. It offers unbelievable performance and has a large distributed architecture which eliminates the need for inter-server communication. For high-load Web applications, memcached is an important service often used to speed up database access. It is not a mandatory component, so users can wait to deploy it till the time when performance bottleneck shows up in their database service. It is worth noting that though memcached is not a mandatory component, its deployments in large-scale Web applications (e.g., YouTube, Wikipedia, Amazon.com, SourceForge, Facebook, and Twitter) has proved that memcached not only can keep performing stably under high-load environments, but also can dramatically improve the overall performance of data query. For further discussion on memcached, refer to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Memcached.

However, we should note that distributed caching systems like memcached are intrinsically a compromise solution that improves the average access performance at the cost of consistency. Caching service adds distributed replicas of some records in database. For multiple distributed replicas of the same piece of data, it is impossible to guarantee the strong consistency unless we employ consensus algorithms like Paxos and Raft.

Contradictorily, memory cache itself is meant to improve performance. Thus it is unrealistic to employ the above mentioned expensive consensus algorithms. These algorithms require each access request to simultaneously access the majority replica including master and slave nodes in the background database. Obviously, this will make performance even lower than not using caching service.

Furthermore, the consensus algorithms like Paxos and Raft can only guarantee strong consistency at single record level. That means there is no guarantee for transaction-level consistency.

Distributed caching will add complexity to the program design and will increase access delay in unfavoured circumstances such as RTT delay upon unmatched, delay upon node offline or network communication issues.

Since 20 years ago, the mainstream database products have implemented proven multi-layer (e.g., disk block, data page and query result set) caching mechanism with high match rate. Now that distributed caching mechanisms have so many drawbacks while database products have excellent built-in caching mechanisms, why the former have become an important foundation for modern high-load Web App?

The intrinsic reason is, in the technology environment ten years ago, the RDBMS (SQL) system with poor scale-out capability had become the bottleneck for network applications like Web App to expand. Thus, NoSQL database products represented by Google BigTable, Facebook Cassandra, MongoDB and SequoiaDB, and distributed caching systems represented by memcached and redis emerged in succession, all playing an important role.

Compared with "traditional" SQL database products like MySQL, ORACLE, DB2, MS SQL Sever, and PostgreSQL, both NoSQL database and distributed caching systems has sacrificed strong consistency to get higher scale-out capability.

This kind of sacrifice was a painful choice under the technology conditions at that time. Systems have become complex: traditional RDBMS is used for places where ACID transaction and strong consistency are required and data volume is small; distributed caching systems are preferred for places where there is "more read and less write" but there is still some room for compromising consistency; NoSQL is used for big data with even lower requirement for consistency; if the data volume is large and there is strict requirement for consistency, sharding of RDBMS could be a solution, which requires various middleware to be developed for implementing complex operations such as request distribution and result set merging for the underlayer databases. There are many different cases which are mingled together making the systems even more complex.

In retrospect, that is an age when old rules were broken but new rules were still not established yet. The old RDBMS is poor in scale-out capability so it cannot satisfy the emerging requirements for big data processing. However, there was not a structured data management solution that can replace the old systems and can satisfy most of user requirements.

That is an age when requirements were not satisfied. Products like BigTable, Cassandra, and memcached are self-rescue results made by Google, Facebook and LiveJournal respectively. There is no doubt these products aimed at "satisfying business requirements at the lowest cost" are poor with generality.

In 2015, finally we are moving out of the predicament. As many of NewSQL solutions (e.g., Google F1, MySQL Cluster (NDB), Clustrix, VoltDB, MemSQL, NuoDB and MyCat) are getting mature and the technology is improving, horizontal scaling capability is no longer a bottleneck for RDBMS. Nowadays architectures can guarantee enough horizontal scaling capability for the system, and simultaneously can achieve strong consistency for distributed transactions (XA).

As shown in the above figure, there is no longer a keen need for distributed caching systems or NoSQL products after NewSQL is equipped with good scale-out capabilities. This has made design and development of the architecture back to simplicity and clarity. Object Storage service offers the support for storing and accessing unstructured BLOB data like audios, videos, graphics and files.

This kind of simple, clear and plain architecture makes everything seemly reverted back to years ago. Object Storage service looks like disk file systems such as FAT, NTFS and Ext3, and NewSQL service looks like the old single-machine database such as MySQL and SQL Server. However, everything is different. Business logic, database and file storage have evolved to be high-performance and high-availability clusters that support scale-out capabilities. Performance, capacity, reliability and flexibility have grown with leaps and bounds. Human beings have always evolved in a spiralling course. Every change that looks like a return represents intrinsic development.

As the distributed file systems (e.g., GlusterFS, Ceph and Lustre) that are mountable and support Native File API are becoming more mature and complete, it is expected to replace existing object storage services for most use cases in a phased manner. This is a major milestone in the evolution of the Web App architecture, of which a real revolution will come when we can implement a high-efficiency and high-availability general Single System Image system. Once such system happens, writing a distributed application will be nothing different from writing a standalone multi-thread application nowadays. It will be nature that processes are distributed and highly available.

 

Scalability of the Three-tier architecture

The three-tier Web application architecture has demonstrated incredible scalability. It can be scaled down for deployment within a single physical server or VPS, and also can be scaled up for deployment in Google's distributed application which comprises millions of physical servers around the world.

Specifically, during project verification and application deployment and at the early stage of service operation, users can deploy the three-layer service component into a single physical server or VPS. Simultaneously, by cancelling the memcached service and by using embedded database products that consume less resource and are easier to deploy, users can further reduce both the difficulty level for deployment and the overall system overhead.

As business expands and system workload keeps increasing, the single-server solution and simple scale-up will no longer be able to satisfy the operation needs. Users can achieve a scale-out solution by distributing components to run on several servers.

For example, a reverse proxy can achieve distributed load balancing by using DNS CNAME records or some layer-3/layer-4 relay mechanisms (such as LVS and HAProxy). It can also use Round Robin or the "Least Load First" strategy to make distributed load balancing for application services. Additionally, a server cluster solution based on shared virtual IP can also implement load balancing and the fault tolerance mechanism.

Similarly, both memcached and database products have their own distributed computing, load balancing and fault tolerance mechanisms. Furthermore, the performance bottleneck of database access can be resolved by changing to NoSQL/NewSQL database product or by using methods such as master-slave replication. Query performance of the traditional SQL database can be dramatically improved by deploying memcached or similar services.

 

Note: This article is excerpted from "3.3.2 Typical Web Use Cases" section in "BaiY Application Platform White Paper"。

Note: This paper describes the overall architecture and how to build a Web App which can permit tens of millions of concurrent connections in a single node. For the distributed system architecture that supported scaling out, anti split brain multiple active IDC, and strong consistency, please refer here.

高并发、高性能 Web 架构

白杨 2015-05

baiy.cn

 

典型 Web App 架构

以下是一个典型的高负载 web 应用示例:

上图展示了一个典型的,三层架构的高性能 Web 应用。这种成熟的架构多年以来已被广泛部署于包括 Google、Yahoo、Facebook、Twitter、Wikipedia 在内的诸多大型 Web 应用中。

 

反向代理服务

位于三层构架中最外层的反向代理服务器负责接受用户的接入请求,在实际应用中,代理服务器通常至少还要完成以下列表中的一部分任务:
  • 连接管理:分别维护客户端和应用服务器的连接池,管理并关闭已超时的长连接。
     
  • 攻击检测和安全隔离:由于反向代理服务无需完成任何动态页面生成任务,所有与业务逻辑相关的请求都转发至后端应用服务器处理。因此反向代理服务几乎不会被应用程序设计或后端数据漏洞所影响。反向代理的安全性和可靠性通常仅取决于产品本身。在应用服务的前端部署反向代理服务器可以有效地在后端应用和远程用户间建立起一套可靠的安全隔离和攻击检测机制。

    如果需要的话,还可以通过在外网、反向代理、后端应用和数据库等边界位置添加额外的硬件防火墙等网络隔离设备来实现更高的安全性保证。
     
  • 负载均衡:通常使用轮转(Round Robin)或最少连接数优先等策略完成基于客户请求的负载均衡;也可以使用 SSI 等技术将一个客户请求拆分成若干并行计算部分分别提交到多个应用服务器。
     
  • 分布式的 cache 加速:可以将反向代理分组部署在距离热点地区地理位置较近的网络边界上。通过在位于客户较近的位置提供缓冲服务来加速网络应用。这实际上就构成了 CDN 网络。
     
  • 静态文件伺服:当收到静态文件请求时,直接返回该文件而无需将该请求提交至后端应用服务器。
     
  • 动态响应缓存:对一段时间内不会发生改变的动态生成响应进行缓存,避免后端应用服务器频繁执行重复查询和计算。
     
  • 数据压缩传输:为返回的数据启用 GZIP/ZLIB 压缩算法以节约带宽。
     
  • 数据加密保护(SSL Offloading):为与客户端的通信启用 SSL/TLS 加密保护。
     
  • 容错:跟踪后端应用服务器的健康状况,避免将请求调度到发生故障的服务器。
     
  • 用户鉴权:完成用户登陆和会话建立等工作。
     
  • URL别名:对外建立统一的url别名信息,屏蔽真实位置。
     
  • 应用混搭:通过SSI和URL映射技术将不同的web应用混搭在一起。
     
  • 协议转换:为使用 SCGI 和 FastCGI 等协议的后端应用提供协议转换服务。

目前比较有名的反向代理服务包括:Apache httpd+mod_proxy / IIS+ARR / Squid / Apache Traffic Server / Nginx / Cherokee / Lighttpd / HAProxy 以及 Varnish 等等。

 

应用服务

应用服务层位于数据库等后端通用服务层与反向代理层之间,向上接收由反向代理服务转发而来的客户端访问请求,向下访问由数据库层提供的结构化存储与数据查询服务。

应用层实现了 Web 应用的所有业务逻辑,通常要完成大量的计算和数据动态生成任务。应用层内的各个节点不一定是完全对等的,还可能以 SOA、μSOA 等架构拆分为不同服务集群。

上图给出了一个典型的高并发、高性能应用层节点工作模型。每个 Web 应用节点(在图 5中由标有"App"字样的方框表示)通常都会工作在自己的服务器(物理服务器或VPS)之上,多个应用节点可以有效地并行工作,以方便地实现横向扩展。

在上图所示的例子中,Web 应用节点由 IO 回调线程池、Web 请求队列以及后台工作线程池等三个重要部分组成,其伺服流程如下:

  1. 当一个 Web 请求到达后,底层操作系统通过 IOCP、epoll、kqueue、event ports、real time signal (posix aio)、/dev/poll、pollset 等各类与具体平台紧密相关的 IO 完成(或 IO 就绪)回调机制通知 AIO(Asynchronous IO)回调线程,对这个已到达的 Web 请求进行处理。
     
  2. 在 AIO 回调池中的工作线程接收到一个已到达的 Web 请求后,首先尝试对该请求进行预处理。在预处理过程中,将会使用位于本地的高速缓存来避免成本较高的数据库查询。如果本地缓存命中,则直接将缓存中的结果(仍然以异步 IO 的方式)返回客户端,并结束本次请求。
     
  3. 如果指定的 Web 请求要求查询的数据无法被本地缓存命中,或者这个 Web 请求需要数据库写入操作,则该请求将被 AIO 回调线程追加到指定的队列中,等待后台工作线程池中的某个空闲线程对其进行进一步处理。
     
  4. 后台工作线程池中的每个线程都分别维护着两条长连接:一条与底层到数据库服务相连,另一条则连接到分布式缓存(memcached)网络。通过让每个工作线程维护属于自己的长连接,后台工作线程池实现了数据库和分布式缓存连接池机制。长连接(Keep-Alive)通过为不同的请求重复使用同一条网络连接大大提高了应用程序处理效率和网络利用率。
     
  5. 后台工作线程在 Web 请求队列上等待新的请求到达。在从队列中取出一个新的请求后,后台工作线程首先尝试使用分布式缓存服务命中该请求中的查询操作,如果网络缓存未命中或该请求需要数据库写入等进一步处理,则直接通过数据库操作来完成这个 Web 请求。
     
  6. 当一个 Web 请求被处理完成后,后台工作线程会将处理结果作为 Web 响应以异步 IO 的方式返回到指定客户端。
     

上述步骤粗略描述了一个典型 Web 应用节点的工作方式。值得注意的是,由于设计思想和具体功能的差异,不同的 Web 应用间,无论在工作模式或架构上都可能存在很大的差异。

需要说明的是,与 epoll/kqueue/event ports 等相位触发的通知机制不同,对于 Windows IOCP 和 POSIX AIO Realtime Signal 这类边缘触发的 AIO 完成事件通知机制,为了避免操作系统底层 IO 完成队列(或实时信号队列)过长或溢出导致的内存缓冲区被长时间锁定在非分页内存池,在上述系统内的 AIO 回调方式实际上是由两个独立的线程池和一个 AIO 完成事件队列组成的:一个线程池专门负责不间断地等待系统 AIO 完成队列中到达的事件,并将其提交到一个内部的 AIO 完成队列中(该队列工作在用户模式,具有用户可控的弹性尺寸,并且不会锁定内存);与此同时另一个线程池等待在这个内部 AIO 完成队列上,并且处理不断到达该队列的 AIO 完成事件。这样的设计降低了操作系统的工作负担,避免了在极端情况下可能出现的消息丢失、内存泄露以及内存耗尽等问题,同时也可以帮助操作系统更好地使用和管理非分页内存池。

作为典型案例:包括搜索引擎、Gmail 邮件服务在内的大部分 Google Web 应用均是使用 C/C++ 实现的。得益于 C/C++ 语言的高效和强大,Google 在为全球 Internet 用户提供最佳 Web 应用体验的同时,也实现了在其遍及全球的上百万台分布式服务器上完成一次 Web 搜索,总能耗仅需 0.0003 kW·h 的优异表现。关于 Google Web 应用架构以及硬件规模等进一步讨论,请参考:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Google 以及 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Google_search

 

数据库和memcached服务

数据库服务为上层 Web 应用提供关系式或结构化的数据存储与查询支持。取决于具体用例,Web 应用可以使用数据库连接器之类的插件机制来提供对不同数据库服务的访问支持。在这种架构下,用户可以灵活地选择或变更最适合企业现阶段情况的不同数据库产品。例如:用户可以在原型阶段使用 SQLite 之类的嵌入式引擎完成快速部署和功能验证;而在应用的初期阶段切换到廉价的 MySql 数据库解决方案;等到业务需求不断上升,数据库负载不断加重时再向 Clustrix、MongoDB、Cassandra、MySql Cluster、ORACLE 等更昂贵和复杂的解决方案进行迁移。

Memcached 服务作为一个完全基于内存和 <Key, Value> 对的分布式数据对象缓冲服务,拥有令人难以置信的查询效率以及一个优雅的,无需服务器间通信的大型分布式架构。对于高负载 Web 应用来说,Memcached 常被用作一种重要的数据库访问加速服务,因此它不是一个必选组件。用户完全可以等到现实环境下的数据库服务出现了性能瓶颈时在部署它。值得强调的是,虽然 memcached 并不是一个必选组件,但通过其在 YouTube、Wikipedia、Amazon.com、SourceForge、Facebook、Twitter 等大型 Web 应用上的多年部署可以证明:memcached 不但能够在高负载环境下长期稳定地工作,而且可以戏剧性地提升数据查询的整体效率。有关 memcached 的进一步讨论,请参考:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Memcached

当然,我们也应该注意到:以 memcached 为代表的分布式缓存系统,其本质上是一种以牺牲一致性为代价来提升平均访问效率的妥协方案——缓存服务为数据库中的部分记录增加了分布式副本。对于同一数据的多个分布式副本来说,除非使用 Paxos、Raft 等一致性算法,不然无法实现强一致性保证。

矛盾的是,memory cache 本身就是用来提升效率的,这使得为了它使用上述开销高昂的分布式强一致性算法变得非常不切实际:目前的分布式强一致性算法均要求每次访问请求(无论读写)都需要同时访问包括后台数据库主从节点在内的多数派副本——显然,这还不如干脆不使用缓存来的有效率。

另外,即使是 Paxos、Raft 之类的分布式一致性算法也只能在单个记录的级别上保证强一致。意即:即使应用了此类算法,也无法凭此提供事务级的强一致性保证。

除此之外,分布式缓存也增加了程序设计的复杂度(需要在访问数据库的同时尝试命中或更新缓存),并且还增加了较差情形下的访问延迟(如:未命中时的 RTT 等待延迟,以及节点下线、网络通信故障时的延迟等)。

与此同时,可以看到:从二十年前开始,各主流数据库产品其实均早已实现了成熟、高命中率的多层(磁盘块、数据页、结果集等)缓存机制。既然分布式缓存有如此多的缺陷,而数据库产品又自带了优秀的缓存机制,它为何又能够成为现代高负载 Web App 中的重要基石呢?

其根本原因在于:对于十年前的技术环境来说,当时十分缺乏横向扩展能力的 RDBMS(SQL)系统已成为了严重制约 Web App 等网络应用扩大规模的瓶颈。为此,以 Google BigTable、Facebook Cassandra、MongoDB 为代表的 NoSQL 数据库产品,以及以 memcached、redis 为代表的分布式缓存产品纷纷粉墨登场,并各自扮演了重要作用。

与 MySQL、ORACLE、DB2、MS SQL Server、PostgreSQL 等当时的 "传统" SQL数据库产品相比,无论 NoSQL 数据库还是分布式缓存产品,其本质上都是以牺牲前者的强一致性为代价,来换取更优的横向扩展能力。

应当看到,这种取舍是在当时技术条件下做出的无奈、痛苦的抉择,系统因此而变得复杂——在需要事务和强一致性保障,并且数据量较少的地方,使用无缓存层的传统 RDBMS;在一致性方面有一定妥协余地,并且读多写少的地方尽量使用分布式缓存来加速;在对一致性要求更低的大数据上使用 NoSQL;如果数据量较大,同时对一致性要求也较高,就只能尝试通过对 RDMBS 分库分表等方法来尽量解决,为此还要开发各种中间件来实现数据访问的请求分发和结果集聚合等复杂操作……各种情形不一而足,而它们的相互组合和交织则再次加剧了复杂性。

回顾起来,这是一个旧秩序被打破,新秩序又尚未建立起来的混乱时代——老旧 RMDBS 缺乏横向扩展能力,无法满足新时代的大数据处理需求,又没有一种能够替代老系统地位,可同时满足大部分用户需求的普适级结构化数据管理方案。

这是一个青黄不接的时代,而 BigTable、Cassandra、memcached 等产品则分别是 Google、Facebook 以及 LiveJournal 等厂商在那个时代进行 "自救" 的结果。这样以:"花费最小代价,满足自身业务需求即可" 为目标的产物自然不太容易具备很好的普适性。

然而今天(2015),我们终于就快要走出这个窘境。随着 Google F1、MySQL Cluster(NDB)、Clustrix、VoltDB、MemSQL、NuoDB 等众多 NewSQL 解决方案的逐步成熟以及技术的不断进步,横向扩展能力逐渐不再成为 RDBMS 的瓶颈。今天的架构设计师完全可以在确保系统拥有足够横向扩展能力的同时,实现分布式的事务级(XA)强一致性保证:

如上图所示,在 NewSQL 具备了良好的横向扩展能力后,架构中不再迫切需要分布式缓存和 NoSQL 产品来弥补这方面的短板,这使得设计和开发工作再次回归到了最初的简洁和清晰。而对象存储(Object Storage)服务则提供了对音频、视频、图片、文件包等海量非结构化BLOB数据的存储和访问支持。

这样简洁、清晰、朴素的架构使一切看起来仿佛回归到了多年以前,对象存储服务就像 FAT、NTFS、Ext3 等磁盘文件系统,NewSQL 服务则好像当年 MySQL、SQL Server 等 "单机版" 数据库。但一切却又已不同,业务逻辑、数据库和文件存储均已演进成为支持横向扩展的高可用集群,在性能、容量、可用性、可靠性、可伸缩性等方面有了巨大的飞跃:人类总是以螺旋上升的方式不断进步——在每一次看似回归的变迁中,实包含了本质的升华。

随着 GlusterFS、Ceph、Lustre 等可 mount 且支持 Native File API 的分布式文件系统越来越成熟和完善,也有望于大部分场合下逐渐替换现有的对象存储服务。至此 Web App 架构的演进才能算是完成了一次重生——这还算不上是涅槃,当我们能够在真正意义上实现出高效、高可用的多虚一(Single System Image)系统时,涅槃才真正降临。那时的我们编写分布式应用与如今编写一个单机版的多线程应用将不会有任何区别——进程天然就是分布式、高可用的!

 

三层架构的可伸缩性

小到集中部署于单台物理服务器或 VPS 内,大到 Google 遍及全球的上百万台物理服务器所组成的分布式应用。前文描述的三层 Web 应用架构体现出了难以置信的可伸缩性。

具体来说,在项目验证、应用部署和服务运营的初期阶段,可以将以上三层服务组件集中部署于同一台物理服务器或 VPS 内。与此同时,可通过取消 memcached 服务,以及使用资源开销小并且易于部署的嵌入式数据库产品来进一步降低部署难度和系统整体资源开销。

随着项目运营的扩大和负载的持续加重,当单服务器方案和简单的纵向扩展已无法满足项目运营负荷时,用户即可通过将各组件分布式地运行在多台服务器内来达到横向扩展的目的。例如:反向代理可通过 DNS CNAME 记录轮转或 3/4 层转发(LVS、HAProxy等)的方式实现分布式负载均衡。应用服务则可由反向代理使用基于轮转或最小负载优先等策略来实现分布式和负载均衡。此外,使用基于共享 IP 的服务器集群方案也能够实现负载均衡和容错机制。

与此类似,memcached 和数据库产品也都有自己的分布式运算、负载均衡以及容错方案。此外,数据库访问性能瓶颈可通过更换非关系式(NoSQL)的数据库产品,或使用主-从数据库加复制等方式来提升。而数据库查询性能则可通过部署 memcached 或类似服务来极大程度地改善。

 

注:本文节选自《白杨应用支撑平台》中的“3.3 通用工具模块-facility”小节。

注:本文主要介绍 Web App 整体架构以及单点千万量级高并发实现方式。有关支持横向扩展 + 抗脑裂(Split Brain)多活 IDC 高可用、强一致性集群的分布式系统架构,请参考这里